Hillpark Taekwon-Do

I.T.F. plaque no. 5238

System of Rank - Belt Colours

There are six belts: white, yellow, green, blue, red and black. White is given to beginners and black is given to students who have progressed through the grades and have a solid foundation for learning the techniques of Taekwon-Do.

The definition of the belts are as follows :

White Belt
Signifies innocence, as that of the beginning student who has no previous knowledge of Taekwon-Do.

Yellow Belt
Signifies the earth from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the foundation of Taekwon-Do is being laid.

Green Belt
Signifies the plant's growth as Taekwon-Do skills begin to develop.

Blue Belt
Signifies the Heaven towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Taekwon-Do progresses.

Red Belt
Signifies Danger, cautioning the the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.

Black Belt
Opposite of white, therefore signifying the maturity and proficiency in Taekwon-Do, also indicates the wearer's imperviousness to darkness and fear.

Students must grade through the following belts in the following order:

10th Kup - White belt given to the beginner
9th Kup - White belt yellow tags
8th Kup - Yellow belt
7th Kup - Yellow belt green tags
6th Kup - Green belt
5th Kup - Green belt blue tags
4th Kup - Blue belt
3rd Kup - Blue belt red tags
2nd Kup - Red belt
1st Kup - Red belt black tags
1st Degree/Dan - Black Belt